Concealed Weapon Application / Permit

An appointment is required. Please click HERE to schedule an appointment online. If you have any questions on which appointment to schedule, please contact our Detention Office at 406-843-5369.   

For a RENEWAL permit appointment:

  • Please bring a filled out application to your scheduled appointment (applications can be obtained at the Sheriff's Office anytime or printed here: CWP RENEWAL APPLICATION.
  • $25 exact cash or check (we do not have change or accept credit cards)
  • Current/valid Montana photo ID/driver's license.
  • Do not sign the application until you are in the presence of the appointed office staff. You will have an updated photo taken.

For a NEW permit appointment:

  • Please bring a filled out application to your scheduled appointment (applications can be obtained at the Sheriff's Office anytime or printed here: CWP APPLICATION.
  • Copy of proof of firearms/weapon safety. This can be satisfied by:
    1. Completion of a hunter education or safety course approved or conducted by the department of fish, wildlife, and parks or a similar agency of another state;
    2. Completion of a firearms safety or training course approved or conducted by the department of fish, wildlife, and parks, a similar agency of another state, a national firearms association, a law enforcement agency, an institution of higher education, or an organization that uses instructors certified by a national firearms association; 
    3. Completion of a law enforcement firearms safety or training course offered to or required of public or private law enforcement personnel and conducted or approved by a law enforcement agency;
    4. Possession of a license from another state to carry a firearm, concealed or otherwise, that is granted by that state upon completion of a course described above in points 1-3. 
    5. Evidence that the applicant, during military service, was found to be qualified to operate firearms, including handguns (Example: DD214).
  • $55 exact cash or check (we do not have change or accept credit cards), and
  • Current/valid Montana photo ID/driver's license.
  • Do not sign the application until you are in the presence of the appointed office staff. You will be fingerprinted and have a photo taken.

NOTE:

  • If you find that you do not have proof of firearms familiarity training, please contact the Sheriff’s Office Detention staff to obtain information on attending a one day course. 
  • Duplicate Hunters Ed Cards Can be found on the Fish Wildlife & Parks Website if you cannot find your original.